Add the IABC Bronze Quill Awards to the list of events that were drastically different from previous years. Rather than a large ceremony with dinner, drinks and dressing up, winners were announced virtually on the newly created BronzeQuillTulsa.com. 


This year, there were 30 Awards of Excellence and 16 Awards of Merit given. This year’s “Best of Show” winner, the entry with the highest total score, was awarded to Byers Creative for their entry “Stormwater Quality Group Brand Awareness Program.”

To view 2020 work samples for a limited time, please click here.

Awards of Excellence were presented to:

  • Becky Carver and Kathy Murphy of ONEOK for “Pioneer Field Museum”

  • Becky Carver, Jennifer Rector, Noël Freeman, Michelle Singer, Joshua Maxwell, Ellen Averill for “2019 Communicators Summit - The Future is Now”The H&P Communications Team for “Drive Safe,” “Our Way Forward, Together” “My H&P Way – Continuously improving 2-year-old intranet for 100-year-old company” and “Brand Evolution and Governance” 

  • Byers Creative won multiple awards for “Stormwater Quality Group Brand Awareness Campaign”

  • Cody Bromley, Darian Guinn, Emma Tedescucci and Kati Zumwalt of Enovation Controls for “Enovation Controls Supply”

  • Byers Creative and Tulsa Regional Chamber of Commerce won multiple awards for “Tulsa Regional Chamber Annual Meeting”

  • Catharine Brierre and Kathy Murphy of ONEOK for “Wells Fargo Investor Conference Video”

  • Susan Simpson, Paige Cole, Intent Productions of Williams for “Jack Crowder's 50th Work Anniversary”

  • H&P Communication, HSE Teams and Safety Team won multiple awards for “Safe Driving Campaign: Bringing H&P’s Actively C.A.R.E. Goals to Life”

  • Nicole Nascenzi, Saxum and 10Up for “Williams.com Website Redesign”

  • ONEOK Communications and IT for “ONEOK Website”

  • Jessica Carthen and PSO Consumer Programs Team for “Power Forward with PSO Website Redesign,” “Save the Watts Campaign” and “Business Rebate Booklet”

  • Linde Oktoberfest Tulsa and Resolute PR for “Linde Oktoberfest Tulsa 2019”

  • Becky Carver and Megan Patterson of ONEOK for “ONEOK 2018 Annual Report”

  • Jackie Hill, Laura Raphael, Judy Webb of the Tulsa City-County Library for “Build A Reader FUN Booklet”

  • TCCL Public Relations for “2018 Fast Facts”

  • Tulsa International Airport for “TUL 2019 Media Kit”

  • Mi Cocina and Resolute PR for “Mi Cocina Influencer Brunch”

  • Micah Laney of Walmart for “30 Days of Good”


Awards of Merit were presented to:

  • Barbara Hasbini, Kasey St. John, Jimmie Hammontree and Intent Productions of Williams for “Environmental Stewardship: Richland Creek”

  • Corporate Communications and Creative Services of AAA Club Alliance for “The Alliance: 2018 Year in Review”

  • H&P Communications Team for “My H&P Way - Continuously improving 2-year-old intranet for 100-year-old company,” “TAUW Day of Caring,” “The H&P Store,” “Wellness Campaign” and “H&P Technologies Town Hall”

  • Natasha Mitchell of Family & Children's Services for “Family & Children’s Services General Agency Social Media”

  • Ramon Cardiel, Jessica Neal, Jennifer Stevenson, Melissa Sandoval of FW Murphy | Econtrols for “Employee Healthcare Choices”

  • Resolute PR for “Tulsa Boat, Sport & Travel Show” 

  • TCCL Public Relations for “2018 Annual Report”

  • T.D. Williamson for “OneTDW, Employee-Driven Community Relations” and “Centennial Celebration #TDW100”

  • Trina Moore, Nita Bomar, Roger Aley of Enovation Controls for “Enovation Controls Read First Inserts”

  • Tulsa International Airport and TPC Studios for “TUL Takes U There”


Honoring our Special Award Winners

Past, Present and Future...

Communicator of the Year Award

Honors a member of the community for his or her contributions to the community through communications. This person is not a communicator by profession — but by passion.

2019- Teryl Rose - ONE Gas

2018- Kimberly Johnson - Tulsa City-County Library

2017- Jeff Stava - George Kaiser Family Foundation

2016- Shagah Zakerion - TYPROS

2015- Scott Shepherd - ONE Gas

2013- Bob Portiss - Tulsa Port of Catoosa

2012- Nancy Day - Oklahoma Center for Community and Justice

2011- Pierce H. Norton - ONEOK

2010- Sandra Lewis - Tulsa Day Center for the Homeless  

2009- Dr. Tom McKeon - Tulsa Community College

2008- Ann Smith - Neighbor for Neighbor

2007- John Gibson - ONEOK CEO

2006- Julie Tattershall - Heller and Clark Theatres

2005-  Gene Batchelder - ConocoPhillips

2004- Henry Zarrow - Tulsa philanthropist and businessman  

2003- Lucky Lamons -  Foundation for Tulsa Schools  

2002- Keith Bailey - Williams CEO

2001- Bill Self, KU Basketball Coach (TU coach at the time)   

2000- Kerry Walsh - Walsh Branding

1999- Susan Savage - Former Tulsa Mayor

John Hartman Professional of the Year Award

Recognizes the outstanding achievements of an IABC member in his or her career, profession and community.

2019- Becky Carver - ONEOK

2018- Megan Patterson - ONEOK

2017- Jennifer Rector, SCMP - ONE Gas

2016- Kendra Thompson - Cancer Treatment Centers of America

2015- Angela Byers - Byers Creative

2013- Shannon Frederick - Walmart

2012- Tom Droege - Rex PR

2011- Ginger D. Homan, ABC, SCMP- Zia Communications

2009- Steve Higgins - Williams

2008- Susie Wellendorf - Wellendorf Communications 

2007- Megan Washbourne - ONEOK

2006- Kerry Walsh - Walsh Branding

2005- Kim MacLeod - City of Tulsa

2004- Tracy Harlow, ABC - ConocoPhillips (Now Walmart)

2003- Joe Williams  

2001- Russ Florence - Schnake Turnbo Frank

2000- Kerry Malone - Williams

Rising Star Award

2019- Kayla Merritt - Helmerich and Payne

2018- Noël Freeman, SCMP – Byers Creative (now T.D. Williamson)

Leon Bolen Service Award

Formerly the President’s Award, the award is selected by the chapter president and given to the IABC Tulsa member who has contributed/volunteered the most to the chapter over the past year. The award was renamed in 2009 in honor of longtime IABC member Leon Bolen, owner of BolenInk, to recognize his many decades of service, leadership, dedication and generosity toward IABC/Tulsa in order to further the organizations’ mission. 

2019- Cindy Bolen - BolenInk

2018- Kim Kuehler - Tulsa International Airport

2017- Leslie Agee, SCMP - Linde Engineering North America

2016- Haylee Westwood - ONE Gas

2015- Cody Bromley - Enovation Controls / Sara Pollard - Walmart

2013- Angela Byers - Byers Creative

2012 - Rachel Payne Wagner - Walmart / Phillip Harris - Williams

2011- Lucia O’Connor - O’Connor Ink

2010- Shannon Frederick - Walmart

2009- Steve Higgins - Williams

2007- Lynn Zimmerman - ConocoPhillips

2006- Leslee Stewart -ConocoPhillips

2005- Ginger D. Homan, ABC - Zia Communications

2004- Shea Daugherty - Conoco Phillips 

IABC Fellow

The IABC Fellow designation is the highest honor we bestow on our members. Becoming a Fellow denotes a body of achievement by a communicator who has had a significant impact not only on their organization and IABC, but also on the communication profession at large.

2009 - Joe Williams


Lifetime Dedication Award

2016- John Simmons


20+ Years of IABC Membership and Service (as of 2020)

Joe Williams - 45 years

Ginger D. Homan - 37 years

Kerry Malone - 29 years

Kendra Thompson - 28 years

Steve Higgins -26 years

Susie Wellendorf - 25 years

Joe Epperley - 24 years

Barbara Hasbini - 21 years

Tracy Harlow - 21 years

Phillip Harris - 21 years

Shannon Frederick - 20 years